Cows Come Home!!

I have a friend who lives in the US of A for last forty years. Terrific guy with a great sense of humour. Though he was never educated in Marathi (he is a Maharashtrian guy) he speaks pretty good accented marathi. He is or I should say was said to have gone “back home” when he moved to America in 70’s. His father was in armed forces and he was educated in approriate “propah” school. He loves maharashtrian food and loves to wear kudata/pajama on rare occassions when he is not wearing jeans.
He completed his MBA and joined a multi national. He married a fine caucasian lady and raised a family. By now you must have understood the profile of my friend.
Some years back he was in Pune and arranged a lunch for relatives and friends on a Sunday. We went for the lunch and with my daughter who was 5 years old then. She had a peculiar way of communicating; she would call anglicised persons either aunty or unlce. So when she was introduced to my friend, she said, “Hi Uncle”! My friend instantly told her “Beta why are you calling me Uncle, why don’t you call me Kaka?”
One can leave the mother land but mother land will never leave you!
About panvalkarpramod

I am an engineer by training and run my own business. I like to blog but do not yet get enough time.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cows Come Home!!

Leave a Reply

