Sorrrrry but what about my EGO!

I and my wife go every evening to drop off our grand-daughter to join a group of children who play, sing and have fun in general. The place has a small ground and a mandir. There are some benches kept on the premises, for people to enjoy their evening chit chat. Many senior citizens have their adda and discuss all the things in this world. It is a fun place.

There was a small incident yesterday. At the entrance, one of the young ladies, who drops of her child, parked her scooter in such a way that it caused inconvenience to people. A gentleman came and declared his displeasure at the inconvenience. The lady was around and the moment she realized her mistake, she said “Sir, I am really sorry, I sincerely apologize the inconvenience”! She removed the scooter and parked it properly. Matter ends!

No it does not end. Why? I used to think that saying Sorry is one of the tougher things in life, especially when you are young (though I personally do not have this problem) but I realized that some people find it even tougher to accept the apology gracefully!

Why the event did not end? The gentleman, instead of accepting the apology gracefully, kept on arguing “today you are saying sorry, tomorrow there will be someone else and so on”. What did this argument achieve? Nothing. The young lady kept on asking the gentleman, “Sir, first thing I did was to apologize and parked the scooter properly. Now what more do you want from me?” The same argument kept on going for some time. The gentleman really did not have anything worthwhile to argue but probably his ego came into picture.

Some senior ladies, who knew the young lady, came into picture. They kept on arguing the same thing with the gentleman but he just would not budge! The young lady got a bit emotional but through all this she kept her grace, always kept the respect for the senior person. Another five ten minutes of back and forth arguments, with no proverbial end of tunnel seen anywhere in the vicinity.

Then I called the young lady to come and sit by me on the bench. I explained to her that, even as early tomorrow morning, she will not remember this incident. She agreed but she was emotional and kept on saying the same thing. “When I apologized immediately why this gentleman keeps shouting at me?” Honestly I had no answer. But I explained to her that she had behaved gracefully and it showed her proper upbringing! Even under stress she kept due respect for the person all through his unreasonable behavior.I also explained to her that we see children behave and react differently to same situation. The same chidlren grow and become senior citizens. Some of them retain their childhood straits!

On the lighter side, had this happened in the wild west in the USA, 200 years back, there would have been a duel and one of them would be dead! I hear that Wild West is still exists in northern India! I have read of people being killed for lesser reasons!

Friends the jury is still out, let me know your say!

About panvalkarpramod

I am an engineer by training and run my own business. I like to blog but do not yet get enough time.
This entry was posted in Social and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sorrrrry but what about my EGO!

  1. Vijay Saheta says:

    This is pretty common. Maybe the Senior Gentle (Toughened) man had problems in past!

  2. Shashikant Inamdar says:

    This case gives me an impression that the senior male citizen would be carrying his problem or baggage from other situation, probably home, where he was helpless. Though he would have realized the situation to be different here, he was more comfortable, specially when the young lady was on the defensive. He needs help in dealing with his emotions. Here, every one else is blaming him and his ego, but the real problem is his sickness, which no one is able to comprehend.

  3. Daithankar Arun says:

    The old man seems to be unsatisfied with himself,and therefore annoyed, He had an irrational belief that every one must behave in the manner he wants,This is a slavary of must.

  4. Daithankar Arun says:

    That senior man must be disturbed or unsatisfied with himself,he has an irrational belief that everyone other must behave in the manner he wants,This is a slavery of must.

  5. Daithankar Arun says:

    That old man might be disturbed or unsatisfied with himself,he has an irrational belief that everyone else must behave on the manner he wants, This is a slavery of must.

  6. A R Ranganaathan says:

    It is the hidden unsatisfied emotions of the aged man that is being converted to outbursts on a very minor issue. The lady probably has understood this very well (she has held her composure for a long time. Any other short tempered lady (there are many around) would have caused a snarl after a few regrets. The lady should be appreciated….. But the man cannot be fully blamed, although wrong.

  7. Pravin Shringarpure says:

    I don’t think the senior gentleman was carrying some baggage or his ego was hurt.He was merely stating a fact that tomorrow somebody would do the same and unconvince people.His comment was out frustration that why people do the wrong thing in the first place!!My point is if people do the right thing, such remarks would not be made.

    • Pravin exactly that is why I said jury is out! But the thing is that the lady had immediately apologized, in the first. So event should have ended there. But why he started shoouting further I dont know!

  8. Daithankar Arun says:

    The lady also, after apologizing ,should not have magnified the issue by being so much emotional, This also is distortion of mind.

  9. Nayan says:

    “Sorry”, should have ended the issue.
    The man certainly has some psychological issues, which we can only speculate about, and waste our time!

  10. Anil Keskar says:

    I am experiencing the situation for the past about 25 years. I have a play ground bang opposite my house, where this situation happens everyday except on Thursday when they have a holiday.Whenever I used to return from office, I found no place to park my car. The ladies (almost all the children were dropped by their moms) used to park their vehicles the way they want, on both sides of the road, not bothering at all or any consideration for the local residents. they used to park their vehicles and go out may be for the evening walk or some shopping. In fact when I reach home I used to get dirty looks. For the past more than a decade I dont drive myself. Either I have my office vehicle or I have a chauffeur. But of lately I have found a better solution. My wife is not happy about it. But I am. I ensure that I reach home late so that there is no botheration to anybody. BUT IS THIS THE SOLUTION?

    • I 150% agree with your comments and the subject you have broached is the matter for another blog!!

      However current blog is about the closure after the lady profusely apologizing! The matter could have ended but did not!

  11. Pingback: The Other Side of EGO! | Pramod's Blog

Leave a Reply

